top of page
  • Writer's pictureJoe

Toy Story

Updated: Oct 24, 2023

Over the past few weeks I've been watching the Toy Story movies while folding laundry. I need something to distract our son or else he 'helps' by picking up everything I've folded. Disney+ provides plenty of kid-friendly watch options and since I'd never seen TS3 (or 4) I decided to go through them all. So here I'm not writing about any particular movie but the series in its entirety, at least through 3 where I am now.


What I'll say up front is that these movies certainly deserve their lofty reputations. I've learned I remembered the first one well and the second one poorly. I definitely didn't know a thing about 3. I assumed there couldn't continue to be quality sequels. Those are so rare. Also, by the time 3 came out I was in college and not super interested in animated films in general. Now I can say I was wrong. Something proven over and over again is that Pixar tells delightful stories and knows feelings exceptionally well.



I'll try to run through each film briefly without too much spoilery stuff.


Toy Story (1) introduces you to Woody and the rest of Andy's (a boy, their owner) toys. Woody (Tom Hanks) is a sheriff doll with a pull-string and he's been Andy's favorite for years, basically forever. Because of this he's also the leader of the rest of the toys, which by the way are actually sentient. A wrench is thrown into Woody's life when a fancy new toy arrives. Buzz Lightyear (Tim Allen) is a space ranger with wings, lights and more. He's doesn't realize that he's a toy. The real problem is that he becomes Andy's new favorite and Woody doesn't know how to handle this. I was really shocked by how jealous and selfish Woody was in the beginning of this film. Of course he redeems himself later.


Toy Story 2 takes place shortly after the first film. Andy's mom grabs some old things for a yard sale. In a valiant attempt to save a friend, Woody goes out there. A man sees Woody, who turns out to be a valuable toy, and steals him. The man, who owns a toy store, has assembled a collection. Woody learns he's part of a set, with cowgirl Jessie, horse Bullseye, and Stinky Pete the Prospector (Kelsey Grammer!). They're to be sold to a museum and preserved for a long time. Woody hears what it's like to be abandoned by the person you most love, something that happens to every toy eventually. Then he has the dilemma of choosing: Andy and his friends or his new-found gang.



Toy Story 3 takes place years later. Andy has grown up and is about to go to college. The toys haven't been played with for years. In a mix-up they all get donated to a nearby daycare, where at first they think they've gotten lucky. It's been a long time since they'd been played with and are excited to meet the kids. But things aren't as they seem and the daycare is run by a bit of a dictator. The toys need to escape. It becomes a rescue/jailbreak movie. The addition of Ken and his dynamic with Barbie is just so great too.


When first taking notes about these movies, I put 'the camaraderie of the toys is always fun.' This is undoubtedly true, but it's so much more than that. In fact, it's everything. Even though the cast of toys changes a bit (e.g. if a voice actor died), a constant is how they do things together. The group (temporarily) turns on Woody for his despicable actions in 1, then band together in an attempt to rescue him in 2. In 3 he returns the favor. It's important to be there for Andy as his toys, but as the films build on each other it's more and more about being there for each other. This idea grows until the last scene in 3, ('So long, partner') which really got to me.



Taking a step back, I really appreciate these films because, while they're certainly enjoyed by children, they're made for adults. Time goes ever on and on. Andy grows up and what life means for both him and his toys changes. Whenever the toys live the safety of his room the world is full of danger. There's a destructive neighbor boy, an adult who'll steal from a child, and a daycare where you check in but may never leave. These supposedly inanimate objects have surprisingly deep characters and emotions. They have a desire to be loved (and played with) and fears of being abandoned, forgotten, broken or lost. Woody goes through a lot and grows considerably from beginning to end. He moves past some immaturity and jealousy, deals with unexpected completeness and a choice between his old life and a new one, then sacrifices everything to save his friends. He's truly the heart of the films, even as much as I enjoy Buzz and the rest of them.


Toy Story 3 could've been an excellent finale to the series. I don't really know much about 4 (besides it sounds existential), but I'm excited to see it and will start soon.


For the record, I'd rank them: 3, 1, 2. I really really loved Toy Story 3.


8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page