top of page
  • Writer's pictureJoe

The Fair

Updated: Feb 14, 2023

Though I'm greatly saddened by the recent violence at the state fair (a brawl/shooting on the Midway Saturday night and a shooting just outside the grounds Monday night) it's still a place I want to talk about, especially for my non-Minnesotan friends. Hopefully I can do it justice considering just how big a deal it is here.

I never would've expected this, since I don't love the crowds, but the fair was something I missed during our time out east. We realized that we're effectively 'fair snobs' when we compared the fairs in Minnesota to the ones we attended in Maryland. The Maryland State Fair in Timonium was almost comically small to us and was in no way worth the drive. The Great Frederick Fair, on the other hand, was a pretty good time, certainly a better experience even disregarding the travel involved. But they both pale in comparison to what occurs in the 12 days leading up to Labor Day in the state of Minnesota.


Also called 'the Great Minnesota Get Together,' the Minnesota State Fair is the largest fair in the country. Don't let anyone from Texas tell you theirs is bigger, though it might draw the largest total attendance. The fair in Dallas runs for 24 days and barely beats Minnesota's draw in twice as many days. Here in Minnesota the fair pretty regularly draws 200k people a day and the all-time record was more than 270k, a mind-boggling number. It's definitely a point of pride here that ours is the biggest.

Falcon Heights, fairgrounds are directly west of Como Park

The fairgrounds are located in Falcon Heights, one of the neighborhoods within the city limits of St. Paul and about halfway between the downtowns (Minneapolis and St. Paul). It's basically a small city with very little happening the majority of the year, but it sure is busy at the end of summer. Most people get there by shuttle bus from park-and-ride lots all over the metro. I don't even consider parking close. It was incredibly easy to get there from the University of Minnesota main campus when I was in school and we even regularly parked there when traveling from the metro's west side. These days I'd probably take a shuttle from the Mall of America (didn't make it this summer with it right at the baby's due date and all).


It's crazy how much the state fair dominates around here for two weeks. I'm not joking in describing it as a kind of state-wide peer pressure. It feels like everyone you know will go. You'll most likely know someone working or volunteering there in some capacity. All the local TV and radio stations broadcast live from there daily, and even the automated DJ, all-music station (my go-to) JACK-FM talks about the fair while it's going on. All the major state politicians, especially during election campaign season (e.g. the Gubernatorial race this year), make an appearance in some capacity and seemingly cease all other activities for the duration. It's impossible to exaggerate the local hype generated by the fair and no one can use the excuse that they forgot about it.


Typically I don't like to deal with massive crowds and can get frustrated with onerous transportation logistics like parking in busy lots and taking a shuttle bus. The fair can absolutely be a hassle and that's an understatement. And yet each year I still have a desire to go. It's weird like that and I haven't entirely figured it out, but I guess it's just part of being a Minnesotan.

I should probably talk about what actually happens there. Well it's a fair, probably in many ways similar to one you've been to before. There's a bunch of big animal buildings filled with pigs, cows, horses and more. Fairs like this were started because of agriculture after all. I do have to say I enjoy the Miracle of Birth Center where we can get a close look at itty bitty baby animals and their mothers. They do butter carving too, and each year crown a 'Princess Kay of the Milky Way.' There are a ton of rides and carny games on the Midway, the Kidway, and elsewhere. The Giant Slide and Skyride (little gondolas over top the fair ) are prominent. Interspersed stalls have wares from local merchants and information or gear from various organizations. You can likely run into and talk with politicians at their individual stands or the party tent (besides the GOP and DFL, Democrats here, there are two sizable pro-marijuana legalization parties in the state). The Grandstand typically has an impressive lineup of shows, mostly but not only music (like Jim Gaffigan!). Even if you don't want to shell out for tickets there's multiple free (once you're inside) venues with music and other entertainment going all the time.


Let's not kid ourselves though, everyone is there for the food. This is where everything is deep-fried, on a stick and there's a never-ending drive to create new items, at least to get buzz from all the reporters when the fair opens. There are a bunch of options for corn dogs (I like Pronto Pups), mini-donuts (get Tom Thumb!) and more. Some of the most popular stands have been around a while, like Fresh French Fries, the Corn Roast and Sweet Martha's (chocolate chip) Cookie Jar. I have fond memories of getting a bucket of Sweet Martha's and going through the $1 unlimited milk line over and over again but my body won't handle that anymore. There's also a big food building (where the big Cheese Curds stand is located) and an international bazaar with all kinds of options in a small space.


These days there aren't many must-get foods for us. First and foremost is the pork-chop-on-a-stick, the best item at the fair. I usually get a corn dog and some cookies too, though not always a bucket. I used to really like the Belgian-waffle-on-a-stick but apparently that's no longer around. There's interesting beer to try at the Agriculture/Horticulture Building as well. There will always be more appealing foods than your stomach can handle and you'll undoubtedly end up leaving feeling disgusting. It works best to share, but even then you're only delaying the inevitable.

Whenever we do make it, my wife and I don't usually stay more than a few hours. I really don't understand how people go all day long, even if I had no qualms about spending that much money. I'm thinking we go next year as our oldest has been a big fan of fairs thus far. The only reason I'm a little disappointed we didn't make it this year was it would've been really fun to hold Paul Bunyan's Axe at the University of Minnesota building. I have no idea when we'll have that trophy again.


Anyway, I'd love to have fellow Minnesotans comment with your favorite fair fare, because we all have them. And let me know if I missed something important. To everyone else, if you're ever in Minnesota right before Labor Day make sure to check out the fair. You may be overwhelmed but I bet you'd have a great, and exhausting, time plus learn a little about our state along the way.

10 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

1 commento


ean.gibson
13 set 2022

Cheese curds are my favorite - I think the mouse trap closed a few years ago but there are still some good ones at the fair. Ashley has always been a proponent of going with others to share the food but like you mentioned - you'll eventually feel it. I think you covered it well. Maybe the only thing you missed was some of the early history but I'm being nitpicky!

Mi piace
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page