top of page
  • Writer's pictureJoe

Tfw you see yourself in an explorer

Updated: Feb 12, 2021

Ok, I can finally write the post that spurred me to actually start a blog.


From Undaunted Courage, written by Stephen Ambrose, chapter 9 (page 114 in my edition).

I've never identified with a historical figure more than reading that Meriwether Lewis had to pack and re-pack and fuss over his things at the onset of the great expedition. Now have I ever undertook something of this magnitude and importance? Of course not. But when I travel I am meticulous packing before and during the trip, especially when I want to bring home items that are breakable. Like, say, bottles of whisky from Scotland. You need to have enough padding on all sides, make sure that certain objects can't break others, and get everything snug. So I thoroughly appreciated this anecdote.

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

The 1968 DNC, Chicago

1968 was a tumultuous year of protest. Anti-government and anti-authoritarian sentiment, amongst a host of other issues, resulted in...

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page