top of page
  • Writer's pictureJoe

Springbank 10

Updated: Dec 7, 2020

Haven't done a whiskey review for a while. Kept intending to, but was stuffed up for a couple weeks and you don't want whiskey if you can't experience it. Glad it wasn't the COVID.


Tonight is the Springbank 10 year, a bottle I've had open a while and (another) nearing empty. I've slipped and let it stay under half full too long and hopefully it's still true to form. Whisky doesn't go bad per se, but it can oxidize in time and change. Another post idea for another day. As I've said previously, one of my favored types is complex coastal whiskies and this fits the bill.

Springbank is made in Campbelltown on the west coast of Scotland. Campbelltown is one of the Scotch whisky regions due to its history of a large number of distilleries and production. Today only three distilleries remain open with Springbank probably the most prominent, producing three malt whiskies: Springbank, Hazelburn, and Longrow. Note to self, get some Kilkerran to try.


On our two trips to Scotland, Campbelltown is an area, and the only whisky region, we have not visited. It is a small place with a small number of distilleries these days, but will be a priority if we ever go back. The closest we've gotten was Kennacraig, where the Calmac Ferries depart for Islay. Due to proximity and some similarities in flavors I like to say that Springbank is 'halfway to Islay,' which I think is original, hopefully.


Thoughts tonight. ..

Smell: Light alcohol, wood and some sweetness like honey or caramel

Color: Some color but fairly light, expected for 10 years in mostly bourbon oak

Taste: Here's the complexity, full bodied and sweet, peat is obvious but light

Finish: Very light burn that quickly disappears, the peat smoke lingers, some spice too

I adore this whisky. Clearly hasn't changed much. It's delightfully complex, with sweet and spice, a bit of peat and supposedly even some sherry maturation. It's a combination of all the things I like in a Scotch and you usually need to get in different bottles. And one of those whiskies I swear you can tell is made near the sea. Like I said, I think it's 'halfway to Islay' and if you like this you can probably do heavier peat too.


If I don't directly replace this bottle after finishing it, I'd like to have something similar on hand. A friend of mine really likes the Springbank 15 year, and it was quite good, but it nearly doubles in price from the already $70+ 10 year and it isn't worth it to make the jump. So next I'll probably open either the Arran or Clynelish I already have, which I haven't tried and could fill the role.


Hopefully you can have something this good yourself this evening. Cheers!


13 views0 comments

Kommentarer


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page