top of page
  • Writer's pictureJoe

Something seemed familiar...

Updated: Apr 27, 2021

I finally used my family's Disney Plus account today for the first time. (Yes, I still need to start the Mandalorian. My previous comments about Star Wars aside, the show looks good.) Previously I'd signed in and added some stuff to the watchlist, but hadn't actually watched anything. The selection was the original Duck Tales, because I remember loving it and I wanted to see how my son reacted to the intro, which is undoubtedly great and super catchy.

The little man started dancing right away and it brought a huge smile to my face.


So anyway I watched a few episodes while doing laundry (which went s1e1-> s1e4-> s1s5. I'm not sure why a few are missing or whatever). The last I watched was called 'Armstrong.' Scrooge McDuck's employee Gyro invents a robot named Armstrong that can do anything.

Armstrong

He first is used as a pilot and shows up resident ace Launchpad McQuack. Scrooge and the boys put him to work around the house where he cleans at a furious pace and makes various efficiency changes. Scrooge then decides to put him in charge of his entire business for a day to see what he changes and proceeds to fall asleep on a couch. When he wakes up something has changed and Armstrong is proceeding to empty the vault of his money. Scrooge is taken prisoner and brought to Gyro's place where he starts to communicate with satellites and control anything electronic around them.


When the episode started, I wondered if the premise was going to be the pitfalls of automation or simply a run-amok robot. While it was more or less the second, he really had a lot of similarities to another robot.

Of course, Armstrong was destroyed when water fell on him and fried his circuits. Ultron was obviously much more difficult.

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page