top of page
  • Writer's pictureJoe

Re-sealing the deck

Updated: Apr 23, 2020

This past weekend I did some yearly maintenance on our deck. After not doing anything with it the few years after moving, the wood was in pretty bad shape. It looked dirty and grimy and absorbed water when it rained. When I finally decided to take care of it, cleaning off the wood was a tremendously time and energy consuming project. I didn't want to do that ever again. So now each spring I re-stain and seal the deck to keep it nice and the project small.

Since I do this every year, I don't have to use deck cleaner (or a sander). I just use a hose to clear off debris and a towel to wipe it off, plus maybe a blower to get anything that remains, like dog hair. Then I apply the stain/sealer and I'm done. It's in all a half day project.


As an aside, I'm only talking about our deck. We also have a screened porch that I let go even longer before finally taking care of it last summer. With all the surfaces and the weather beaten wood, that was a summer long project working on the weekends. I'll also try to keep that under control going forward, but don't think I'll stain it every year. The deck gets worn much faster, especially the flat surfaces.


Here's what I do. First clean off the wood and make sure it's dry. For staining, you'll need:

- Deck stain/sealer (I use Thompson's or Olympic, semi-transparent, Acorn Brown)

- Paint brush

- Paint bucket (I have a Handy pail and liners)

- Paint roller + frame

- Paint roller tray (use a liner)

- Old t-shirt or towel you don't mind getting stain on

Getting started with the brush, go around all the areas you can't get with the roller. In this way it's a lot like painting a room. I first did the edge of the rails, the horizontal beams where the spindles attach, some of the vertical bars. Again since I do this every year, I focus on the places that need it. This for sure is all the flat surfaces and others that take a beating from the sun. I did not do the spindles and some of the other vertical bars this year. After doing the areas surrounding the rails, I went around the edge of the flat part of the deck surface, including the doorway. All of this is with a paint brush. I left the stairs untouched for now.

Next pour the stain into the roller tray, get the roller wet and get going on the flat surfaces. You want to work in a way that you're never standing on wet paint. I did the rail tops first, then started working from the outside in on the walking surface of the deck. Make sure the coat is thick enough. If it's especially worn it'll take more stain. If you're doing this for the first time in years it'll take more than you think. Keep going until the deck is covered in stain, and hopefully you've left yourself a way to get out. I locked the door from the porch to the deck and did the wood at the top of the stairs last.

Leaving an escape route

When the deck walking surface is done, only the stairs remain. I brushed the edges and vertical sections then rolled the flat steps. And that's it. Give it 24 hours to dry, though it doesn't actually take that long. Easy peasy.

Time to put the deck furniture back and enjoy the weather.

8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page