top of page
  • Writer's pictureJoe

Moana

Updated: Oct 24, 2023

I'm not into Disney nearly as much as others, such as my wife, but generally when I actually sit and watch something from Disney proper or Pixar I enjoy it thoroughly. The Incredibles has long been my favorite. My wife adores 101 Dalmatians, Robin Hood, and Cinderella especially. We saw Inside Out shortly after moving away from Minnesota and that slayed us. Coco was a little slow through the middle but oh boy does it hit you at the end. Of the new 'live-action' remakes, we've thought them to be pretty meh except the Jungle Book.


For quite a while, my wife plays music when giving Jack a bath. One of the regular rotations is a mix of Disney music, so he's heard a number of the songs for a while. It's funny how early kids form opinions on music because he already likes some much more than others. Yesterday I was playing some songs on Youtube and casting them to our TV. We've tried to be pretty careful about limiting his screen time but we also want to start sharing things with him. Whenever a Moana song came on he sat perfectly still and watched, while nearly all other music he demanded to be changed, including 'Friend Like Me' (sad face). Well, he then got a bunch of Moana.


I don't know if it's the fact that we just returned from Hawaii, or it's just that my son is apparently obsessed, but I'm really enjoying Moana myself. We'll have to watch the actual movie again soon. I liked it a lot when we first saw it, seemingly even more than my wife, which was a first I think. The story, voice actors, and songs are all great. And it's a gorgeous film that captures the Pacific super well.


Everyone knows this one.


I really like the Rock's (Maui!) song too.

Plus Lin-Manuel Miranda and Polynesian exploration.


I think part of it is just how much I'm impressed by what the Polynesians did. They spread out and explored a huge swath of the Pacific ocean on canoes (!) using oral tradition, primitive instruments, and knowledge of the waves and stars. It blows my mind.


Anyway, with Disney+ and the fact we have a kid now, I'm sure there will be plenty more Disney in my future. And I'm okay with that.


UPDATE:

After a week of hearing Moana every day, this is the favorite.


15 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page