top of page
  • Writer's pictureJoe

Holding pattern

Updated: Sep 3, 2020

It's a weird time, since nobody really has any idea how long this coronavirus ish will last. Social distancing seems to be necessary but it's tough. Who doesn't want some interaction, whether extrovert or introvert (like me)? Who doesn't want to get out and do something? We're stuck in a holding pattern, sitting at home, and waiting for what's next.


Well I should say most of us are. There are two extremes. My wife is working more than ever while I don't have anywhere to go. Unlike nearly everything else, grocery is one of those areas where demand is off the charts and this all is certainly tougher on her than me.


I don't believe we're sick, haven't had any symptoms, but isn't that the crazy part of all this? You can be asymptomatic for days. Jack and I have done some stocking up and plan to stay home as much as possible going forward. The only places I do plan to go, besides walking around the neighborhood, are some favorite local spots for takeout. It'd be really sad if they didn't make it.

This holding pattern thing isn't particularly new to me, though the current one also comes with an unpleasantly serious case of dread. Sometimes, ever since moving to Maryland, I feel we've just been waiting for something to change and we'll move on to the rest of our lives. We almost moved to Phoenix last year, but that opportunity disappeared as soon as arrived. Often I'm surprised how much has changed in Minnesota when we visit, but it's been nearly six years! Time and change don't stop.


In this case, I haven't decided whether I'm incredibly well- or ill-prepared for isolation. Since moving, I've always been at the house. First a remote job now a stay-at-home dad. I'm used to it sure, but I need that time out and about, running errands at least. This winter I haven't really come up with any regular me time. Through the summer I have golf and softball leagues. Will those even happen? Ugh. Here's to staving off going stir crazy. I do get to hang out with a pretty awesome toddler. Blogging should help too, it's been a good outlet. I have the backsplash to finish, the landscaping to work on, and more around the house. And there should be more time for video games...


I played Halo last night for the first time in months. Haven't actually played much since I wrote about it. Due to the virus, a couple friends I've seen much less lately were able to come online too. One is a normally very busy teacher with sudden free time, and the other a developer for a military contractor, working from home. Maybe some good will come from this yet, if I get to chat and game with them more.


That's enough for now. Stay healthy my friends.

16 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Yorumlar


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page