top of page
  • Writer's pictureJoe

Haze craze

Updated: Aug 8, 2023

If you haven't noticed, 'Hazy IPAs' (and sometimes Pale Ales) have taken over the craft beer market. More traditional lPAs were not monolithic, usually grouped into East Coast and West Coast, but they were nearly always translucent and struck a balance between malt and hops. Hazy IPAs have now exploded in popularity after starting in New England, why they're also called 'New England IPAs.' Their trademarks are overwhelming fruitiness and a hazy appearance due to being unfiltered. These beers are not nearly as bitter as traditional IPAs and sometimes border on fruit juice. This all isn't a problem, as the style can be really good.


The problem I see is that demand for the style has resulted in every brewery everywhere making it, and in my opinion often creating a subpar product. When hazies local to Maryland and Virginia started appearing, I thought very few were good, some were fine, most were meh. Most places offered traditional IPAs too, so I wasn't forced into it and hazy beers were labeled as such.

Two years ago, my wife and I traveled to visit friends outside Boston. We drove and on the way stopped at Tree House. Usually when we travel I look up a brewery to visit and this was both on the way and reviewed super well. Expecting to drop in and grab a six-pack, I was surprised to see a nearly full lot, a line 100+ people long out the door, and people carrying 2, 3, or 4 layers (of 24 each) as we drove up. What I hadn't known was that this brewery only sells on premises and this scene was commonplace. So after waiting in line, I got a layer myself, purchasing at least four of each available. These were all hazy IPAs, though in New England the style is expected and they're simply labeled 'IPA' (or written out 'India Pale Ale'). We took them to our friends and cracked a couple. I was blown away. Nothing I'd tried previously compared. It's still the best beer I've ever had. We visited a couple other places while up there, but Tree House remains my favorite. We've also since traveled to Portland, Maine. The best beer there included Bissell Brothers and Maine Beer Co, just up the road in Freeport, though there were breweries making good stuff everywhere. I'd still like to see northern Vermont and get some Alchemist (specifically Heady Topper) and go back to Boston for Tree House again, and also check out Trillium. There's just so much.

Inside Tree House, this guy is buying 4 layers (96 cans, ~$400!)

The point here is that I'm totally spoiled. There are a number of breweries in New England making incredible beer and everyone else is struggling to keep up. If I didn't love hazies from most local (to me) breweries before, I really don't now and often try to avoid them. Their growth has resulted in traditional IPAs being less available, which is sad because I love the crisp bitterness of them. I'm also finding labeling of the hazy style has stopped in a lot of cases, so it's not unusual to regret my choice after getting something labeled simply 'IPA.' It's like I need to ask whenever I order anything, or look it up on Untappd if I'm in a store, and that's annoying. Plus, the price for beer just keeps going up. An expensive (4x16oz or 6x12oz) pack used to run you $14-15, and these days $20+ is commonplace. You don't want to buy beer you won't enjoy for that much.


What prompted this post was a visit to a newish beer store in Frederick. Their selection is fantastic and the guys working there are on top of the craft world. I asked what I should try and basically everything recommended was hazy. I figured this guy knows what he's talking about, I'll try one, it's probably better. And you know what, it's fine. But that's disappointing. Maybe I've built up those NE breweries in my head (though it hasn't been that long since Maine). Maybe my tastes are changing. Regardless, lately I've been trying fewer new beers and going back to what I already love. That's typically Dogfish Head. Those flagships are just so good.

17 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Kommentare


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page