top of page
  • Writer's pictureJoe

Golf league @ PB Dye

This post definitely goes with the idea this blog is sometimes a sorta virtual scrapbook. Ideally, whether or not I write for that long, it'll be fun to look back in five or ten years on what I'm doing right now. As we don't know what the future holds (who does really?) and may be living elsewhere in a year (AZ?), I want to note things that should be remembered.


My golf league is one of those things. We moved to Maryland in 2014 and I've been playing each Wednesday night through the summers since 2015. All but one of those years the league's been played at a course in Frederick County called PB Dye, named for the designer.

I'm usually fairly slow to make friends, especially at this stage of life. With few exceptions, the people we hang out with are co-workers of my wife. That's not a complaint, as that group includes great people I love to get together with. Instead it's largely a realization that this league is the only social thing I do that's all my own. And for the first time since our move out east, I feel like I'm actually making some connections, in this case a few of the guys I golf with. After a few years it's nice progress, and hopefully it continues.


A full 18-hole, par 72 public course, PB Dye is great for league play because it's long and quite a challenge. We start after 5pm during the summer, so we only get in 9 holes on a shotgun start. Playing from the middle of five tees, in this case green, it's a total yardage just over 6300. The tips stretch over 7000, btw, and I'm glad I don't need to attempt that. Generally the par fives are a little easier. Most of the par fours are extremely tough. #5 is a big dogleg left that I've probably never reached in two, especially because the ball always rolls off the back. #6 features an intimidating well-elevated approach and green, and everyone thinks it's a par five the first time playing it. #15 takes a big right turn after forcing you to clear a huge tall grass area. #16 has a super narrow fairway that requires an awesome drive to have a chance at going for the green, which hides behind railroad ties and several bunkers. #9 and #18 make you flirt with water but are cool nonetheless. Each of the four par threes make you clear something (ravine, pond...) to reach the green. Everything is long and always punishes errant shots. Almost all of the greens break several ways and simply getting on can be the opposite of rewarding. All this said, it remains a tremendous place to play over and over and I've long since learned how to play each hole, not that I often succeed.

My golf game is constantly a work in progress. Since I've never played through the winters, even though that's largely possible in this part of the country, I seem to go through the same things each year. For whatever reason, probably because the muscle memory isn't there, I can often drive the ball really well at the beginning of the season when my iron play and short game need work. Those things that get better and better as the season matures and are what I care most about. However, by the end of the season, my tee shots can be extremely wild, which often leaves me feeling helpless. There's also just too much inconsistency. I'll almost always blow up on at least one hole per side, taking an eight or something else horrible. When I'm playing well, I want to keep the ball in play off the tee, strike it well with my irons, chip great and putt okay. That's my ideal, unless at some point in life I really put in the time to improve. I've never entirely wanted to spend the money or time to do that, mostly continuing to enjoy the game as a hobby. At PB Dye I'm always happy to shoot under 50 per nine.


This last Wednesday was the end for this Covid impacted and shortened season. (It really worked out for the USGA to allow putting with the pin in at all times prior to this year.) Overall I didn't do particularly well in league play, as has been the case for a couple years, though did have a few good rounds. Over the weekend many of the guys played a Ryder Cup style event at another nearby course in a finale to the season. Instead of taking on another local league, we formed two teams ourselves. I was honestly a little scared to join, as I'd been playing horribly lately, but a schedule snafu came up and I was asked to fill in for the Sunday match play. In the end my fear was premature, as I got locked in for a while and played the way I like. Overall taking 12 out of 18 holes, the result couldn't have been much better either, though play was super slow and I was gone all day. My team won overall too. It was a great time and a great way to wrap up what'll likely be my year in golf.


(Awkward non-handshakes or fist bumps all around) Until next time!

10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentários


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page