top of page
  • Writer's pictureJoe

Glenmorangie Duthac

Updated: Dec 7, 2020

A year ago my wife got me a present, a subscription to Flaviar.

It's an online club for spirit enthusiasts which includes special releases, free shipping each month on purchases, and free quarterly tasting boxes. While I could try other stuff through them, I do stick to whisk(e)y.

I recently selected and received a tasting box featuring NAS (no age statement) expressions from three scotch distilleries, all we've actually visited, Glenmorangie, Aberlour, and Laphroaig. I had only heard of one of the three bottles and was super interested to try them.

Tonight, I tried the first. Glenmorangie Duthac. Apparently it's only in travel retail, meaning at Duty Free shops in the airport, which is why I hadn't seen it before. I like to use Master of Malt when looking up whiskies, so here:

I've never actually reviewed a whisky in detail myself, but I'll do my best:


Color: Yellow, not a ton of color

Smell: Not all that appealing, sanitary? unrefined/young?

Taste: Actually very nice but relatively simple, clean, little sweetness/vanilla, no smoke/peat

Finish: Some spice lingers pleasantly, good burn but not overly hot

Supposedly there was some maturation in PX casks, but I wouldn't have guessed it. There wasn't a real noticeable sherry flavor to the whisky or redness to the color. It was good, though not must try or anything. I wasn't impressed at first, but I have to admit it grew on me as I finished the dram. The lingering spice in my throat was really enjoyable.


I highly doubt I will even see, much less buy, a bottle of this. Since it's travel retail it's probably overly expensive and hard to find. So I can stick to Glenmorangie Original or Lasanta if I want something from the distillery. They're both good, easy to find, and likely cheaper. This is why getting these from Flaviar is so fun though. New interesting whisky!


5 views0 comments

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page