top of page
  • Writer's pictureJoe

Get Joe Pickles

Updated: Sep 3, 2023

During spring 2018 we went to the Frederick farmers market and bought a few plants for our little garden beds, mostly pepper sprouts. The guy gave us a pickling cucumber plant for free, and I planted it. Cucumbers rapidly emerged that needed to be used somehow. I don't particularly like cucumbers anyway and these were pretty boring in flavor. So I decided to make pickles, which my wife likes, and then some would be preserved. Personally I think all forms of pickles are disgusting, so it's kinda funny that I make them even if it's fun in the end. (I do like other things pickled, like peppers, beets, onions...)


Danielle says she likes them, but as with anything in our fridge she usually forgets their existence. So quickly there was some overflow as I made some. Our church small group had a barbecue that summer and crushed a whole jar that night. That surprised me. Next I brought some to some friends (FTC!) that we see pretty regularly and they loved them too. That's who gets them now, sometimes traded for other stuff like home-brew beer. I've since bought a 12 pack of mason jars to add to the randos we already had, and developed a product line name. Get Joe Pickles! This also works for anything else, Get Joe Boocha!


Here's how I do it. It's honestly super easy. I've used this recipe as a starting point and usually follow it pretty closely, though I've tried changes. These are 'fridge pickles' and don't require canning or pressure cooking, but also won't last forever like store bought.


What you need:

Cucumbers (~12 mini, fewer if larger)

3 quart sized mason jars

-----Brine-----

4c water

2c white vinegar

2tbs kosher salt

1tsp sugar

-----Other-----

Bunch of dill

Head of garlic

Peppercorns


1. Put the water, vinegar, sugar and salt in a saucepan on the stove. Turn on the burner and stir. It doesn't need to boil, you just need to absorb the salt/sugar. Turn off once this is done.

2. While the brine is cooling, slice the cucumbers. I usually do circles, not lengthwise though that's an option too. Try to cut them a 1/4" in width but not much more either. Throw away the tips. Set aside the circles for now.

3. Remove garlic skin and crush each clove with the side of a big knife. Put 2-3 into each mason jar. Throw in some peppercorns, I usually do 10 per jar. Slice a chunk of dill from the bunch (totally technical terms) and add to the jars as well.

4. Distribute the sliced cucumbers between the jars. Don't overpack.

5. Pour room temp brine over top, covering cucumbers in each jar. This time I wanted a bit more and mixed a 1/2c more water with 1/4c more vinegar and topped them off.

6. Seal jars and put in fridge. Wait a week to eat. They seem to last a few months.


I've also done a spicy variety, which just includes adding peppers as well. Serranos worked great last time and got rave reviews. Simply chop off the stem and slice lengthwise, keeping the seeds, and put into the jar with the garlic/pepper/dill. 2-3 peppers is good. I've read the spiciness is largely determined by the sugar, so add more to ramp up the heat.


If I'm really going to keep going with this, I should probably get a crinkle cut knife, and maybe make some better labels. :)

Gotta wait a week

Enjoy!

18 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page