top of page
  • Writer's pictureJoe

Catoctin Creek Roundstone Rye

Updated: Jun 8, 2023

As a companion piece to Bourbon or Rye?, it's high time I review a Rye whiskey. Why not start with one that's close to home? No promises, but this'll likely be the only time I do whiskey entries back to back.


Catoctin Creek distilling company is located in Purcellville, Virginia, less than an hour south and over the Potomac river from Frederick, Maryland, our home. While we haven't visited the distillery, we have driven by a few times (mostly) on the way to Monk's BBQ, the best barbecue I've had anywhere around here. It's a place I'll suggest whenever feasible due to their food, extensive whiskey bar and periodic live bluegrass.


Founded in 2009, Catoctin Creek was the first legal distillery in Virginia since Prohibition. Named for a nearby tributary of the Potomac River, they make Rye whiskey, gin and brandy end-to-end at their renovated location on Main Street in Purcellville. Their products get distributed to 26 states (including MD, MN and AZ), according to the wiki page linked above.


I'd seen their Rye in liquor stores a number of times before deciding to buy one as a gift for a friend. We tried it at the same time and were pleasantly surprised. I shouldn't have been, I guess, since Catoctin has already won a number of accolades, but I just don't trust mid-Atlantic locals and/or newish distilleries to put out quality whiskey. They, however, appear to be an exception to the rule and deserve credit. Since then I bought another bottle for myself, partially to support them during Covid, and that's my open Rye at the moment.

Catoctin's primary whiskey is called 'Roundstone Rye Whisky,' a single barrel available at a few different proofs. The strongest is a ~116 proof cask strength, which varies per individual barrel. A distillery exclusive is the 92 proof 'Distillers Edition.' The 80 proof flagship is the most common and the one I have in front of me. In case you didn't notice, they spell it 'whisky,' which is very unusual here in America. Apparently it's a nod to the founder's Scottish heritage and their methods, including the use of pot stills instead of columns.


ABV - 40% (80 proof)

Mash - 100% rye (wide eyes emoji)

Age - < 2 years (why it's not 'straight')

Maturation - New charred Minnesota white oak

Location - Virginia

Price - ~$35 around here, probably $40-45 elsewhere


Smell - Rye is obvious, sweet fruit, very fresh

Color - Relatively solid amber, color added?

Taste - Wood, rye spiciness there but not super strong, some lemon and sugar too

Finish - Even with full flavors, spirit is light and gentle, dryness and some spice remains

Final Thoughts:

Impressively light with full-on rye and its corresponding flavors balanced by some sweetness, it's really good. I'll prefer it as a sipper, though it'd work for cocktails (where more forthright spice and/or higher ABV would be an improvement). Before doing this I had no idea it was so young or distilled from 100% rye. Just knowing that I'd expect something entirely untamed and overly spicy but it's not at all. I'm impressed enough to consider the drive for a Distillers Edition. This Rye in particular and Ryes in general keep growing on me.

5 views0 comments

Commentaires


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page